The Proverbial Questions

I have always been work-diligent. Replying fast to e-mails and trying to innovate on a daily basis. 

Amidst the flurry of work e-mails and projects left and right – I think about the why.

Why am I doing this?

What makes me want to do this?

What is it that I hope to achieve?

Many times, I feel fatigued from wanting to do so much. Then I get tired and have no more energy for what matters most. My family.

Work is but one path to self-actualization. But without healthy family ties, what the h*ll is it all for?

I think about the many long days and nights in the office, finishing an endless to-do list and going home tired and impatient from fatigue and stress.

I look back now and ask – “What is it all for?”

We all have our own reasons why we wake up everyday, facing the work day anew, raring for the challenge ahead.

We all experience workplace anxieties, frustrations and anger at the most mundane things.

We all feel irritated by colleagues every once in awhile, most of the time over magnified miscommunications and misinterpreted e-mails.

We fail to realize that with every work deliverable, every task at hand, every interaction, failed project, feedback session, every meeting and every successful initiative – we gain something more valuable than a 10% increase and the word “manager” somewhere in our job title.

We gain experience. We toughen up, getting yet another badge in this corporate boot camp.  We develop skills that would ready us for a future situation that would call for that specific skill. We become more mature with each misunderstanding, knowing everyone is going through the same stress and frustration as we are on a daily basis.

I have thought about quitting many times. Many, many, many times. I have quit once. And I can say that the pivotal “I quit” milestone I had in 2015 led me to so many more breakthroughs than expected. It paved way for many things I would not have experienced if I settled for something less than what I was capable of.

I think about what I have learned. 

And it can be summed up in three things:

  1. Find joy in work – for self-actualization, financial prosperity and character formation.
  2. Time equals currency.
  3. Relax by finding balance between how much you can give and how much is left for yourself.

For what is the point in getting there first if you get there alone?

What is the point of getting to the top but have no joy jn your heart?

What is the point of earning five times more but have no family to spend it with?

When cornered by stress and deadlines, think about your why? Why are you working? 

Once answered, ask again, what is the point?

Heres my answer to these proverbial questions:

Why do you work? For my family.

What is the point of your work? My work in HR enables people. It offers them roles that fit who they are, what they want and who they hope to be. It develops their potential to work with purpose and a sense of accomplishment. It engages them to do their work excellently, allow opportunities for growth and have fun while doing it.

There. I answered my “why” and “what’s the point”. 

Now, it makes perfect sense.

Leave a Reply

